Increase your marketing efficiency with Microsoft Excel Formulas and
Solutions from InfoTech Marketing. We provide two types of solutions:
Microsoft Excel formulas for common marketing problems, and
database solutions
for more efficient program execution. "Do more with less" with our
Microsoft Excel solutions for marketing.
| Task |
Use |
Formula |
Cell Example |
Numeric Example |
Numeric Results |
|
Interpretation |
| Compound Annual Growth Rate |
Examine growth between two periods |
=(Last Period / First Period)^(1/Number of Periods)-1 |
=(f1/a1)^(1/5)-1 |
=(1000/500)^(1/5)-1 |
14.87% |
|
The market has been growing by 14.87% per year over the past 5 years. |
| Short-Run Break-even Quantity |
Find quantity needed to achieve 0 profits in short-run |
=Fixed cost/(Unit Revenue - Unit Variable Cost) |
=g2/(a2-b2) |
=6000/(100-40) |
100 |
|
We need to sell 100 units to break-even |
| Profit Impact |
Determine contribution to profits |
=((Unit Revenue - Unit Cost)*Proected Unit Sales)-Fixed Cost |
=((a2-b2)*c2)-g2 |
=((100-40)*500)-6000 |
$24,000 |
|
At our projected sales levels, we will contribute $24,000 to profits |
| Selling Price Based on Margin |
Set price based on cost paid and margin |
=Selling Price / (1 - Margin) |
=d2/(1-d3) |
=10/(1-0.5) |
$20 |
|
At a cost of $10 and desired margin of 50%, our selling price should be $20. |
| Suggested Retail Price |
Establish suggested retail price based on distribution chain margins |
=Manufacturer's Selling Price per Unit/(1-Wholesale Percent
Margin)/(1-Retail Percent Margin) |
=e2/(1-e3)/(1-e4) |
=5/(1-0.2)/(1-0.5) |
$12.50 |
|
If the manufacturer sells for $5, and the wholesale margin is 20% and retail
margin 50%, the MSRP should be $12.50 |
| Target-Return Price |
Set price based on desired ROI |
=Variable Unit Cost+((Desired Return % * Investment)/Projected Unit Sales) |
=b2+((f2*f3)/c2) |
=40+((0.15*200000)/500) |
$100 |
|
To earn 15% on the $200,000 investment with $40 unit cost and 500 projected
sales, our price must be $100 |
| Total Customer Lifetime Value |
Estimate a customer's contribution to corporate value including acquisition
cost |
=Present Value(Discount Rate per Period,Lifetime Number of Periods,Unit
Revenue-Unit Variable Cost per Period)-Acquisition Cost |
=-pv(f2,h3,a2-b2)-h4 |
=-PV(0.15,5,100-40)-125 |
$76.13 |
|
At a 15% discount rate with a lifetime of 5 years with purchases of $100 per
year and $40 variable unit cost and acquisiton cost $125, a customer
contributes $76.13 of value |
| Post Acquisition Customer Lifetime Value |
Evaluate a customer's contribution to corporate value after they are
acquired |
=Present Value(Discount Rate per Period,Lifetime Number of Periods,Unit
Revenue-Unit Variable Cost per Period) |
=-pv(f2,h3,a2-b2) |
=-PV(0.15,5,100-40) |
$201.13 |
|
At a 15% discount rate with a lifetime of 5 years with purchases of $100 per
year and $40 variable unit cost, a customer contributes $201.13 of value |
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Just click on the one you'd like.
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Excel formulas and database solutions, call
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